To Live or To Escape

To live or to escape
That was the question she posed.
I gave a pause
And thought awhile.
Why did I write?
Was it both?
Neither?
Neither seemed quite right,
An understatement.
I write
Because I need to.
I can’t imagine not writing.
I compose in my head
Where it echoes
And echoes
Until I offer release.
I enjoy it,
No doubt,
But when I’m not writing
A part of me is missing.
I feel like I’m stagnating,
But when I put pen to paper
I’m moving again.
I write
To think
To speak
To imagine
To feel.
I write to breathe.

One thought on “To Live or To Escape

Leave a Reply

