Not Worth It

I’m not that valuable,
don’t look at me like I am.
I’m tarnished all over
fractured pieces
is all I am.
Don’t treat me like I’m precious,
a treasure beyond compare.
You could find me in the dollar bin
at the back of any store.
Don’t tell me that I’m beautiful.
I’m broken and warped,
all the beauty gone to God-knows-where.
I’m really nothing special,
pick something better for yourself
…please
just let me go.
‘Cause if you hold me dear much longer
I might believe it for myself.

Leave a Reply

