I Saw You Today

It’s been a while,
and I thought I had come far
from that place I’d been
when it was you and I together.
Then I saw you today,
and you were so far away.
I believed that I
was over you
and prayed to God
that it was true
Then I saw you today,
and all that pain
came back to me.
I’d deluded myself
to think that it would leave.
I’m still hopelessly lost
in a dream of what we could be.
I try to pick the pieces up
but a part of me
just can’t give up
because every time I do,
somehow, I’ll see you.

Prompt: I Saw You Today 11/24/16

Leave a Reply

