Let Me Try

I know you’re worried.
I get that you’re tryin’ to help,
but every time
you open your mouth
it feels like
you’re talkin’ down at me.
Stop.
Please.
Sometimes I need to struggle through.
Sometimes I need to find my own way,
try to figure it out.
So just step back and see
the road I choose for me.
I may stumble,
and I may fall,
but I’ll be okay.
I promise.
And should I need you,
I know you’ll be there
waiting
with open arms
that I can reach up
and grasp.

Prompt: Talk Down

Leave a Reply

