Still Not Over You

I never thought I’d feel
as low as the day you left,
but seeing you standing there,
I feel that pain again.
I worked so hard
to pick myself up,
to find a way to move on forward
and quit from looking back.
I finally stopped wondering
just what I did wrong,
but then you waltz in
and that progress is gone.
My mind starts working overtime
trying to find your every fault
but I keep turning up empty.
My sense has left my body,
my head won’t turn away,
and as I look you over
I think I’m falling again.
I thought I’d moved beyond this,
but I guess I just fooled myself
because once you love somebody,
there’s no recovery for your heart.

Prompt: Still Not Over You

Leave a Reply

