Forgotten

I’ve forgotten
many things.
I’ve long forgotten
what my favorite show
looked like.
I’ve forgotten
titles of books
and where the spices go.
But those are things
I don’t need to know.
Then there’s the stuff
I thought I’d always remember.
The sunshine in your hair.
The color of your eyes
and the look of your smile.
They’ve all faded
to a foggy memory.
I can’t picture them any longer;
all I remember is haze.
Even if I can hear it in your voice,
and know that you’re happy,
you have no idea
what I’d give
if I could just see you
when you smiled.
At this point,
even just the memory would do.

Prompt: Forget

Leave a Reply

