Steps

One step forward,
two steps back.
I thought I made progress,
I was blind to what I lacked.
I didn’t see the mountain,
foreboding and tall.
I didn’t see the quicksand
in which I was starting to fall.
I kept my eyes forward​,
focused on the prize.
I never noticed the fairytale
was spun out of lies.
Reality came
and crashed all around
leaving new weights
to keep me bound.
I keep pushing on
and paving my way,
but it’s always one step forward
and two steps back.

Prompt: Steps

Leave a Reply

