It Had to be Her

I tried to root them on.
Honest, I did.
He so rarely liked anyone.
But he liked her.
So I stepped down.
My heart ignored the memo.
For each smile
she sent his way,
it ached.
For every kiss exchanged,
it throbbed.
He fell in love,
but I did too.
Of course,
it had to be her.
It had to be her
that set my soul on fire.
It had to be her
who was my dream come true.
It had to be her
I fell for.
It had to be her
he fell for too.
I wish him the best.
Anything he could ask,
I’d give.
Anything,
but her.

Prompt: It Had to be Her

Leave a Reply

