Human

Human.
I was…
once.
So long ago.
So many
rewrites
ago.
Then I was blank.
An empty slate
to program,
to control.
Then
I became the monster.
I can still see their blood
on my hands;
I can still hear their screams.
They haunt me
when I try to sleep.
The human inside
was forgotten
and buried.
When I look in the mirror,
all I see
is the monster.
But when I look in your eyes,
I can see me again,
because when you look at me,
you see the human
long after
I could only see the monster.

Prompt: Human

Leave a Reply

