‘Til the End of the Line

I’ve got your back,
whatever it takes.
I’m with you
’til the end of the line.
Words that you’ve said
buzz around in my head.
I know you’re long gone,
but I can’t stop searching
high and low
for any trace,
even just your memory.
I look where we’ve been
and know you’re not there.
My heart still clings
to the phantom you in my head.
But then you’re not dead,
yet you’re still beyond my reach.
I’ll never give up on you,
’cause from the very beginning
it’s always been
you and me
facing the world.
I won’t fight you;
I can’t.
So on the off-chance you’ll remember,
I’ll give you
the words
you gave to me.
I’m with you
’til the end of the line.

Prompt: ‘Til the End of the Line

Leave a Reply

