Stuck in Silence

This morning I woke up
in complete silence.
No lawn mowers outside the window.
No mother shouting orders.
No TV blaring in the background.
There was nothing.
Not a sound.
Just silence.

It was so relaxing.
A pleasant change to the norm.
Your hand on my shoulder surprises me.
When did you sneak up on me?
Your lips are moving,
but nothing’s coming out.
If this is a joke,
I can’t say I’m pleased.
Something’s wrong.
It’s not just you.
I should hear that dog barking
or dad’s car pulling up.
I scream.
I can feel it in my throat,
the only proof that it happened.
Still, I hear nothing.
Not a sound.

Prompt: Stuck in Silence

Leave a Reply

