The Biggest Concern

Gone are the days
when my biggest concern
was when nap time ended.
Those days fluttered away
without so much
as a backward glance.
My concerns changed
right along with the days:
money moved up
and so did the niggling doubt
questioning
Will someone ever love me?
Or will I die alone?
Will debt consume me?
Will I find a job?
Or just waste away?
So many questions,
so many concerns
that leave me wishing
that I could return
to the days that were easy
and all I wanted
was for the dream time
to end.

Prompt: The Biggest Concern

Leave a Reply

