With Every Break of My Heart

I wish I could love you
without holding back
but I’ve been here before
time and again
each time leaving
another break in my heart.
I wish I could give you
a love without limits,
but I’m sorry
I can’t.
I’m terrified you’ll hurt me
like others before.
Each time that this happens
I’m left a little more broken
trying to hold
my remaining shattered pieces
together with bleak hope.
But I don’t have much left
and so I hold back.
I know it’s not fair
to give a heart so broken,
but if you’ll be kind
I’ll try one more time
and love you
with every piece of my heart.

Prompt: With Every Break of My Heart

Leave a Reply

