When I Grow Big

When I grow big,
I’ll be large and in charge.
I’ll be just like my mommy
and wield my power kindly.
All the little people
will love and adore me.
When I grow big,
I will be everyone’s favorite.

When I grow big,
I won’t hear them fighting.
I’ll be old enough
to finally have a say.
I’ll be nothing like my parents,
and I’ll find someone who loves me.
When I grow big,
I’ll finally escape.

When I grow big,
I’ll go my own way.
I won’t need some man
to give me self-worth.
I’ll be fearless and strong.
When I grow big,
this pain will stop hurting.

When I grow big,
my heart will stop breaking.
I’ll make my own money
and get my own place.
I’ll be independent.
When I grow big,
I’ll be free.

It wasn’t supposed to be like this!
I was supposed to be happy.
Be my own person.
Find love.
Be loved.
But here I am,
I’m all big,
but I’m falling apart.
I have no place.
I have no love.
My happiness
has long since dried up.
I don’t get it!
Everything was supposed to fall in place,
When I grew big.

Prompt: When I Grow Big

Leave a Reply

