I’d Give It All

The money ran out.
The jobs dried up.
It’s not just me
I have to worry about.
I look down at
my little girl-
my light
and my world.
She needs a future.
She needs some hope.
Anything I can give her.
So I tell her lies,
one after another,
about what we have,
about my hunger,
about how tired
I always seem to feel
to give her opportunities.
I work hard
each and every day
on odds and ends
anything that pays.
I give her hope,
and I give her dreams.
When I see her smile
life is better than it seems.
I’d give up everything
just to see her have a chance.

Prompt: What I Did For Love

*Inspired by “My dad’s story”: Dream for my Child- MetLife video. I included the link if you want to see it. (Disclaimer: I in no way had anything to do with the video) –> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3bdm4NBYxII

Leave a Reply

