Intimate Moments

I feel your thrusting
like a distant echo.
Our bodies joined
in this passionate embrace
should be the thing
that makes you feel close.
Your face above mine,
panting out our rhythm,
less than a foot away.
If I wanted,
I could lean up
and kiss those heated lips.
Yet the thing that tells me
that you’re here with me
is none of these.
Our hands are clasped,
fingers entwined
in an intimate dance.
That’s what I can’t tear my eyes from.
It lets me know you’re here
with me.
Everything else
is just extra.

Prompt: “Take Me By the Hand While We Do What Lovers Do” (Adele- “All I Ask”)

Leave a Reply

