Standing Still

I always looked forward
trying to see my goal
never getting closer.
I thought I was trapped,
standing still
where I would stay
’til the end of time.
It wasn’t until
I turned to look back
that I noticed
how far I had come.
I’m no longer at the start line,
nor am I the same me
that I was when I had been there.
I’ve changed so much
and while I still have a long way to go,
I’ve still come so far.
I hadn’t been standing still after all,
It was all in my head.

Prompt: Standing Still

Leave a Reply

