Matches

I light the match
to watch the world burn.
To see the flames devour.
To feel their heat
licking at my side.

I light the match
to see what survives.
What fights to beat the odds.
What remains standing,
mangled though it may be.

I light the match
to ignite the spark.
To show me I’m alive.
To know that I can feel.
To know that I can breathe.

All around me,
the world turns to ash
crumbling in the wake of my flames.
Beneath the charred remains
there’s still life.
Inside, I can feel the flames,
so I light the match
so I can breathe.

Prompt: Burn

Leave a Reply

