Hearts in Ice

I was too late. By the time I had gotten to her, her skin had already taken on an icy blue hue. Her flesh was cold to the touch. Yet somehow, she managed to look peaceful. A perfect time capsule frozen in time. If it wasn’t for the blue tone to her once rosy cheeks, one might think she had merely curled up and gone to sleep. I leaned in and pressed my lips to hers, willing my warmth into her. But this is not a fairy tale, and my kiss does not stir her from her slumber. My warmth leaves with my hopes and my heart encases itself in ice.

Prompt: Ice Blue

Leave a Reply

