Enough

The man held me tight and gently rocked me back and forth. Then he began to whisper in my ear.
“You are smart and brave. You are the most caring person I’ve ever met. You are amazing. You are beautiful and loving. You didn’t deserve the terrible things that happened to you; they weren’t your fault. There is nothing wrong with you. You are perfect, just the way you are.”
He continued to whisper sweet words, one after another.Everything I’d always wanted to hear and more. Tears streamed down my face uncontrollably. My breaths were reduced to shudders, still he kept up the steady stream of words.
By the time he stopped, I felt whole again. Like it was enough, just to be me.

Prompt: Enough

Leave a Reply

